
REVELATIONS 
About Hesitations and other Ethical considerations 

By Steven Gaynor 
 
Misconceptions abound regarding many bridge proprieties.  Both newer and experienced players do not always 
handle situations properly and it may cause hard feelings due to those actions. I am hoping to clear the air 
regarding some of these topics and make the game more enjoyable for everyone, including our directors and 
caddies! 
 
CALLING THE DIRECTOR:  Speaking of directors and caddies, did you know they are all related?  Each one has the 
same last name:  PLEASE.  Call ‘Director Please’, or ‘Caddy Please’.  It is especially bad form to call a director over 
to your table by using their name.  It can be intimidating to a new or visiting player when you call for the director, 
saying, ‘Mike,’ or ‘George’, or ‘Tony’.  The director will treat everyone the same, but that new or visiting player 
may feel they will not get a fair shake since you are on a first name basis with the director. 
 
THE ‘STOP’ CARD:  Use of this card has been discontinued, but the official ACBL rule is that ANYTIME someone 
makes a skip bid, the next player is required to ‘hesitate’ for 5-10 seconds before making their call.   Even when 
you have an easy ‘pass’ call, you should still count out a few ‘Mississippi’s’ before you pull that pass card out. A fast 
pass gives your partner unauthorized information just like a slow pass and can end up with your side receiving a 
negative scoring adjustment based on your partner taking advantage of that out-of-tempo call. 
 
THOSE HEAVY BIDDING CARDS:  Even when you are in the pass out chair it is a good idea to pull out the ‘pass’ card 
so that everyone is sure the auction is over.   Please do not ever tap the table or verbalize pass when it is your turn 
especially when you are not the last bidder.  Doing this sends a message to your partner that you do not expect 
any more bidding from your side.  This is unethical and can also lead to penalties for your side, particularly in 
competitive auctions. 
 
IN-TEMPO CARD PLAY:  When you are on defense be careful about the card you play.  You may have adopted 
complicated signaling systems, count, suit preference, whatever.  If you hesitate over which card to play when it is 
your turn you send a clear message that you have at least two cards left in that suit.  That may give partner 
unauthorized information which can lead to penalties, and worse can often help declarer figure out a hand with 
the extra distributional clue you give him. 
 
INDECISION:  Sometimes you may not immediately be sure of the call you want to make – pass, double, bid – 
whatever. That is OK.  What is not OK is to reach into your bidding box toward one action, touch one card and then 
switch to another.  Please keep your hands off the box until you have made your final decision on what you want 
to do.  That is why it is good practice to keep and even keel on all your actions, do not make ‘bullet’ bids when you 
have nothing to think about, and try not to think too long when you have a problem.  Make all your calls in a 
deliberate tempo, even when you have nothing to think about.  That gives you some latitude when you do need to 
take some time to make up your mind. 
 
WATCHING YOUR OPPONENT:  If you are playing against someone like Brad Pitt or Scarlett Johansson, I guess you 
may be looking at them, but not due to any bridge related issues.  However, it is bad form to gaze at your 
opponent or your partner for any reason and it is against the rules of bridge to watch where your opponent or 
partner pulls a card from their hand.  Still, many will do that anyway, so to protect yourself, make it hard for 
someone to take advantage of you. 
 
 
 
 
 



INQUIRING MINDS:  Your opponents have made a bid that has been alerted of that you do not quite understand.  
At your turn you do have the right to ask about it, but you must be careful.  Is your next bid or call dependent on 
knowing what their bid means?  If so, ask, but if not, it may be best to wait until the end of the auction to ask your 
questions.  Also, if they make a bid in a suit in which you have a robust holding, you should not ask about that bid 
unless you plan to make a call, like a lead-directing double of what turns out to be an artificial bid or whatever. It is 
bad form to ask about a bid in a suit where you have values to encourage partner to lead it.  When you do want to 
ask, do it at your turn and not before.  That also means waiting until partner has made their face-down opening 
lead.  It is OK to ask for a review of the entire auction and an explanation of the bids. 
 
OBVIOUS PLAYS: Let’s say your side gets the bid and you are dummy.  Your hand has a singleton in the suit led.  
Well, for sure your partner, the declarer, will end up playing that card, but you must keep your fat paw off it until 
declarer calls for you to play the card.  There are two good reasons for this:  First: give your partner the courtesy of 
taking the time they need to plan out the play of the hand. BY pulling the card you are rushing your partner, 
especially if the third hand now plays a card.  Don’t you want your partner to do the best they can do?  Where’s 
the fire?  Second (and most compelling):  You are the dummy.  ACBL rules state that after you table your hand you 
have no right to touch a card until declarer calls for it.  Another point is that when there are two or more cards in a 
suit and you think declarer has called for the wrong one, you must obey silently.  It is not proper to ask, “which 
one?’ or “what?” hoping to awaken partner to a possible error.  If declarer says something like ‘play a spade’, you 
MUST play the lowest card in the suit.  Only if declarer names the specific card can you play another one. 
 
PARTNER FORGETS TO ALERT:  Oops, your bid should have been alerted by partner.  Now their response should 
also be alerted, but by doing so, you wake their partner up.  What should you do?  You must still alert the call.  
There could be problems later, but the first missed alert is likely to be an issue anyway. 
 
WE GET SO WRAPPED UP IN IT: The round has been called and a new pair is coming to your table (or you are going 
to a new table).  The last hand may have been tough, and you want to talk about it, but you need to stop your 
conversation and get to the next hand.  When you discuss old hands in front of new players you may be giving 
them info they can use later when they play that hand.  Plus, recriminations, like – ‘why did you do that?’ etc. are 
not welcome at the table.  If you have a quick question regarding methods, like, ‘We are playing upside-down 
attitude, right?’ and you need to clarify a future situation, that is OK, but to get into specifics or trying to win a 
post-mortem, well, save it for dinner! 
 
MOVING THE BOARDS:  The directors at major tournaments will usually call the round with about 2 minutes to go.  
If you and your opponents are ready to start that new round, great – congratulations on your timely play, but 
please do NOT ask another table for the boards before the round is called.  Everyone has the right to finish their 
play within the allotted time without you nagging them for boards prematurely.  On the other foot, when the 
round is called, and you are still playing the last round the boards should be moved WITHOUT someone having to 
ask for them.  Whoever is dummy should be attuned to this.  This also applies to premature moving of the boards.  
The bottom line is do nothing to disturb another table until the round has been called by the director. 
 
LEAD FIRST, WRITE LATER:  Once the bidding is over and the play starts, the opening leader should make their lead 
and only then do their paperwork.  It is rude to be scribbling on your sheet while the rest of the table is waiting for 
your opening lead.  The same thing applies to dummy.  When the opening lead is made, place your dummy face up 
on the table.  Do not make people wait for you to enter the score.  You will have plenty of time to do that later.   


